Posted by: Robin Foster | April 7, 2010

Camp Logos for Logos IV

Last week I attended Camp Logos.  First let me say that it was well worth the money and effort and I plan to attend Camp Logos II when it comes to Oklahoma.  There were nearly 100 people in attendances at the conference that included both men and women, but you did not feel so isolated that you could not get help.  Below are some tips I will pass on if you decided to attend the camp.

  1. Plan on purchasing the manuals they offer and the short cut cards.  They sell two manuals which cost $30 a piece.  The first deals with the topics dealt with in Camp I.  The second with Camp II. The reason I purchased the manuals was because there was so much information and there was no way I could remember all that was shown.  The main benefit of the seminar is that you can see the power of Logos IV and how it can benefit your sermon preparation.  For example, if I was studying Eph 1:5 and I wanted to look further into the word “adoption” I could look into the collections I have set up to narrow my view of what resources I wanted to use.  For example, I have several John MacArthur books in my Logos library.  I could narrow my search to just MacArthur’s books on “adoption” and every reference where he speaks of our adoption would come up because I have a MacArthur collection already set up.  I could also include the theological books in my library that have been set up as a collection and every instance where “adoption” is mentioned would come up in my theological collection.  Imagine the time saved from having to pull books down from the shelf and looking up adoption in every MacArthur book or theological book.  Now, if I forgot how to set up my books up in collections after the seminar, the Logos I Manual would be there to guide me.  There are also some areas discussed in the seminar that are not in the syllabus handed out in the beginning of the program.  I have found that the manual covers those areas.
  2. If you are a Mac user like me, you are probably running the program on a parallel in Windows since Logos is not completely done with the Mac version.  On the Windows side, you may have noticed the right click is different in the Windows version if you are using the track pad on the Mac Book.  Right click for Logos is very important and sometimes when you try to right click on the track pad (using the control key along with the click button) something different happens than what should. I was not able to do all that was presented because my right click did not follow along with what happened on a PC, so I missed out practicing with some demonstrations (another reason the manuals are handy).  Afterwards, I decided to buy a wireless mouse to see if that would fix the problem.  It did.  If you don’t have a wireless mouse, get one to use until Logos is fully operational with Mac.  The one I got was only $20.  Of course you may find that the mouse makes things much easier on the Mac side also, as I have.
  3. Make sure your program is fully updated and indexed at least two days before so you can be prepared to use the program the day of the seminar.  I would suggest working off-line after you have updated and indexed until after the seminar.
  4. There will be products to purchase, bring extra cash.  The temptation will be too great.  I already have Grudem’s Systematic Theology, but when I saw what the search engine could do once I put my theology books in collections, I had to buy it for Logos.  You will be encouraged to buy other resources.
  5. You might find that Morris Proctor (Moe) seems to be a bit slow and repetitive.  I did find times where I was waiting for him to move on and was a bit frustrated, until he said something that I missed and went back and repeated it.  This happened a few times.  At that point I was very happy that he went slow.  Moe stuck around during the breaks and answered individual questions that pertained to one’s particular issue.  He did not see conference breaks as the time to chit-chat and eat food.  He was there to help.  I greatly appreciate his willingness to focus on the needs of the attenders and not his own.
  6. Don’t expect to get any information about the iPhone App.  They are mainly focused on the computer program itself.
  7. Finally, after seeing what this program can do you may be tempted to sell your shelf books.  Don’t!  I don’t want the marked flooded with used BDAGs and TDNTs.  Anyone needing slightly used copies, please let me know. 🙂
Leave a Reply

Categories

