Posted by: Robin Foster | December 21, 2009

Logos 4: Taking Sermon Prep to the Next Level

Ever since I got the Biblesoft 2.0 edition back in 1997 I have used Bible computer software in my study. Over the years I remained with Biblesoft upgrading to the 5.0 version last year spring. I even wrote a review for them to use in their advertising. For the price, it is a great resource, but as I upgraded, I also waited for Biblesoft to produce something that dealt with syntactical and clausal analysis of the original Hebrew and Greek. In the DMin program at Southwestern, looking past the particular words to the clausal structure has been a major emphasis and a tremendous help in my preparation to preach God’s Word.

In February of 2009 I went to the Biblesoft table when I attended the Pastors Conference at FBC Jacksonville and asked if they were developing anything that might help in studying the text at the clausal level. The guy at the table said that they hadn’t and that I really didn’t need to do that because it was a waste of time. I wouldn’t get much out of it. My response, “Hmmmmmmmmm? I think it is time to move on to another program.”

While I still believe that Biblesoft is a good program (great for those who have limited knowledge of Greek and Hebrew) and well worth the investment (It is much cheaper than Logos), I wanted to go deeper electronically with my study. Then I took another look at Logos. I had kept up with them since my seminary days, but during that time I did not feel the price justified the investment. Now ……… WOW! I got the Logos 3.0 program after the Pastors Conference and it has been a tremendous help. They recently released the 4.0 program and I upgraded to the Platinum edition from the Gold I had. The resources are too numerous to mention. And yes, they have great syntactical and clausal analysis resources that help in those studies.

What is great with the 4.0 edition is the indexing feature that indexes every word used in the entire library so that if I want to find out more on “baptism” all I have to do is type it and every resource in the library that refers to baptism will come up. Hours of research are done in just a few seconds. If I am studying a particular passage in the New Testament, all I have to do is type in the passage and more than thirty commentaries and word studies pop up on the screen saving me hours of researching. I can also designate which resources are my favorite to get what I need more quickly. The information is a click away. The Old Testament resources are not as numerous as the New Testament resources, but in reality, that is true whether you are using Logos or not. Even so, a wealth of information is available for the Old Testament.

Another bonus is that I can integrate the Logos program with my iPhone. While Logos is still in the process of getting the entire library available on the iPhone, for the time being I can still do some incredible studies (Logos currently has over 3000 resources. Click here to see which ones.) and look up items when I am working with others one-on-one or in small groups. Just this morning I was discussing some particulars about Herod the Great with other pastors and was able to look up information on the spot to settle an argument.

The major draw back is that they are still developing the software for the Mac. While I could use what they have available on my Mac, it would be updated approximately every two weeks and on each update the computer would go and re-index all the material in the program, which would take several hours. They plan on having the updated edition fully integrated for Mac by the summer. Until then I can still run the program on my parallel.

If you are hyper-serious about getting the most out of your study time in the best way possible and you have the means by which to do so, I would recommend Logos 4.0. If cost is a serious problem, they have discounts for seminary students and professors if your institution has an agreement with them. They will also allow you to pay the cost in installments. Check out the web site, www.logos.com to get all the details.

I have not been paid or given any monetary benefits for this review.

Responses

  1. Robin, I recently purchased Logos software and I am planning to attend a Camp Logos in OKC at the end of this January. Are you possibly thinking about attending this training?

  2. Tim

    At this time I am planning on being there. See you then if not before.


Leave a Reply

Categories

