Posted by: Robin Foster | October 29, 2008

Yelling and Screaming

Okay Robin, why a picture of your hairy wrist?  Well, recently I injured it while riding my bike.  It was about ready to drop when I stopped it, all the while yelling and screaming from the pain.  BTW, the bike is over 900 lbs.  My bike was rescued, but my wrist was not.

From the photo you can see the bump protruding from my wrist.  I originally thought this was swelling, but now I can see it is an injury.  Needless to say, I have not been able remain consistent on my resistance training, although I have been with my walking.  I tried lifting Monday while wearing a brace, but it hurt all the next day.  I will have to break down and go to a doctor.

One thing I have noticed is that my weight loss has come to a halt.  I read reports that resistance training better aids in weight loss.  I am beginning to believe it.

On a different note, yesterday completed my service as moderator of the Cimarron Baptist Association.  Two months ago, our Director of Missions, Dr. Tom Owens, went home to be with the Lord.  I found that there is not much in material available that instructs one on what to do when this type of an event happens.  But I have been blessed with the wisdom of many people.  If you have never been involved in your local association, allow me to encourage you to do so.  My involvement has been a tremendous blessing and I have gained a great fellowship of pastors.  Plus, a DOM is an invaluable resource to the local pastor.  I know that mine was to me and I miss him.

Responses

  1. Robin,

    I pray your injury heals. I also ask you not to rush it. I will be returning to the doctor on Tuesday because I rushed an injury and started lifting too soon after the primary injury.

    Increase your walking time and add some non-resistant type exercises to your workout such as jumping-jacks and running-in-place.

    Get that arm well and then build back up slowly. You are in this for the long-haul.

    My prayers are also with you and the other pastors and churches of your association in the loss of your DOM. A good DOM is a blessing from the Lord to the men who serve as pastors to the flocks of God.

    I will also pray for the family of the DOM. Their loss is great and I am sure a guy like you has been leading your church and the other churches in your association to minister to them in their loss. You are a sensitive man and God knew you would be Moderator when He called Brother Owens home. For that I am sure the family is thankful.

    cb


Leave a Reply

Categories

