Posted by: Robin Foster | June 25, 2008

VBS and Food

Dad, please take off the socks.This week is VBS and I am having a ball. To the left is a picture of me and my two kids. Of course they were thrilled to have their picture taken with me, my jams, and my socks. πŸ˜€

This year we are doing Outrigger Island. The setting is basically in the Hawaiian Islands, hence the jams. I am dressed like a typical tourist from Oklahoma, hence the socks with the sandals.

One of the blessings and one of the temptations I am facing this week with VBS is that our ladies prepare a supper for all the workers and their children. Not a big spread, but enough to get you full and it is soooooooo good! Many in our church do wonderful things like this to tie up loose ends. I am so blessed to pastor at Immanuel.

The issue I face this week is eating the dinner. As the picture shows below, we had Taco Salad with Nachos and dessert. Now, I ask myself, “Self, why in the world did I decide this week to change my eating habits?” Well, because I needed too. So instead of getting some chips smothered in cheese sauce with the sour cream and other tidbits of tasty morsels, I opted for the lettuce portion of the salad, with some meat, salsa and a few tortilla chips. Yum Yum!

I am looking forward to how God will move this week. Last year we had three salvations and I pray that the Lord will touch some of the hearts that are in our care.

Responses

  1. Robin,

    Thanks for sharing the pictures. Now I understand more fully the temptation that you are facing. Just looking at that spread makes me hungry, and I just got back from lunch. πŸ™‚ I know VBS is a lot of work, but it is worth it. I pray your VBS goes well.

  2. I don’t know about the tourists from OK, but you really look like the snowbirds who visit us in Florida from January thru April. πŸ™‚

  3. Robin, I’m so happy to read of how much you are enjoying VBS. It’s a blessing to know that it is more than an event on your calendar. Some dread it and I for one think it is one of the greatest things we do in the SBC each year. Thanks for this post. selahV


Leave a Reply

Categories

