Posted by: Robin Foster | April 3, 2008

An Unfortunate Anniversary

U2 – Pride (In the Name of Love)

Tomorrow, April 4th 2008 is the unfortunate fortieth anniversary of the assassination of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. I know that his theology did not match up with mine, but I do admire the man for taking a stand against the devil’s tools of segregation, racism, and hatred. I am not one that believes he peaceably fought only to free African Americans from the prison of prejudice and racism, I also believe he fought to free the minds of all Americans from the oppression of seeing his fellow humans as less than being made in the image of God. It is because of the efforts of people like Dr. King that I grew up having friends of color.

Today things are better than what they were in 1968. His dream has lived on in the hearts and minds of those generations that followed, but there is still work to be done. This work will not be achieved by pointing fingers at others. It will only be achieved by the gospel that tells us in Christ those divisions of old are no longer in effect. I know our past (Southern Baptist) has not been stellar in race relations, but may we continue to move forward in race reconciliation with the gospel.

This song “Pride In The Name Of Love” by U2 was written in memory of Dr. King twenty years after his assassination. I share this with you all in my own memory of Dr. King.

Responses

  1. Thank you for this post Robin. Good post. Good song. I had forgotten today was 40 years that Martin Luther King Jr. had been assassinated. Thank you for this awesome reminder.

  2. Debbie

    Thanks for still checking out my site. I have been so sparse that I did not know if anyone would still have me on their reader.

    God Bless

    Robin

  3. Well said, Robin. I appreciate your thoughts here. May we all take the example of Dr. King to heart and continue to bring justice into the world however we can. We have a ways to go, but I praise God that we have come a long way. And you are absolutely correct: the only real answer we have is the gospel of Jesus Christ and the work of the Holy Spirit in the lives of the church.


Leave a Reply

Categories

